Give us a kiss!

I can be quite fussy when it comes to the lipstick I use. Although apparently quite easy to formulate, there are so many niggles I have with lipstick that I usually just find something I love and stick to it. Like most women, I always have a lipstick on me, mostly something in a red. I recently received a parcel of lip products to try out – all in hues of pink.
Not that I have anything against this muted, traditional colour…I just find that I prefer something more drastic. So when I tried out Maybelline’s ColorSensational in Juicy Pink, I didn’t expect to like it. But I did! One of my biggest problems with lighter lipsticks comes down the fact that the product never delivers on its promise. From the colour label at the bottom to the initial impression of the product, I often find a colour that is great to look at but when applied to my lips, almost disappears. Not this one! It’s not as intense as a lipstain, which I’ll take about in bit, but for a lipstick, I think it really delivers. It also has a really impressive shine to it so you get the effect of wearing a gloss but without the stickiness.
I don’t know about you but I hate stickiness. It feels gross; your hair gets caught in it if you live in a windy city (hello, PE friends!); and it makes saying hello a mission because you can’t give someone a quick peck on the cheek without leaving half the product on their face so you have to do the awkward air kiss. And there is no way you can sip from a glass or coffee mug without leaving tell-tale signs that your lips are not naturally that colour. So, no, I’m not a big fan of lipgloss. Until L’Oréal sent me their new Colour Riche lipgloss in Really Rose.
It’s a pretty standard colour – a kind of pinkish berry – and something I would wear to work. But the aspect of this product that sold me was the smell. It smells delicious! I’m very much addicted to coffee, specifically lattes, and this just took me back to many hours I’ve spent over a cuppa with friends. And the best part? No stickiness! It has a thick consistency, of course, but when I smack my newly-painted lips together, I’m not left with this horrible gooey sensation.

Fun fact

During economic recessions, women spend more on smaller luxuries, like lipsticks, which don’t cost the world but can have a profound effect on the way she feels about herself. This trend resulted in such a drastic increase in lipstick sales over the years that the phenomenon became known as The Lipstick Index. The global economic effects of the past few years have seen a change in this. Women have been spending more on foundations and concealers during the recent global recession and it has now become known as The Foundation Index.
I know there aren’t any swatches or photos of me actually using these products, like some of my other beauty girls. I’m working up to it, ok? I promise that as soon as I figure out how to take close up photos of my mouth and photoshop any imperfections out, my Twitter followers will be the first to know. Oh? You aren’t following me on Twitter? Sies! I suggest you do that asap since I’m a confessed Twittaholic and if you like what I’m posting here, you’ll get loads more info from following @BeautyBloggess. (Did you see what I did there with the whole self punt thing? Pretty schneaky, ja?
Back to the products! My final and absolute favourite of the products I tried this week was an Yves Saint Laurent (YSL) lipstain. Now, if you are a fan of pink, then this product is ideal for you. It comes in a pretty rectangular tube with an angled flattened brush that makes it really easy to apply. The colour intensity of this product is unparalleled. It goes on smoothly and dries to a matte finish which just lasts and lasts and lasts. Honestly, this product stayed on for hours! I went out, had dinner, drank a glass or two of wine and when I got home, it was still there. I eventually had to remove it with make-up remover to make sure every last bit of it was gone. YSL is a premium beauty range so obviously you expect to get what you pay for but this product went above and beyond. I’d seriously recommend it to anyone looking for something they don’t have to reapply every 20 minutes.
Leave a Reply

