Rubybox

If you’ve had your eye on the local beauty media lately, you may have heard something about beauty sample boxes. This subscription-based service launched in SA a little while back and from what I’ve seen on the beauty blogs, is causing quite a stir. I heard about this concept a few years ago so when I saw a well-known beauty editor had launched [rubybox] in SA, I was thrilled.
The theory behind the concept is that we all love beauty products but don’t always want to spend a fortune buying something only to find it doesn’t work for us. [rubybox] sends through a bunch of samples every month of four to five products that the team has already tested on themselves. For R100 a month (on a month-to-month subscription, less if you sign up for a contract), you get to try top of the range luxury products for a fraction of the price it would normally cost you. Another plus is that you get exposed to brands you might never have heard of.

If you like the products, [rubybox] also hosts an online boutique where you can purchase the full sized products and have them delivered directly to your door. And don’t worry, this isn’t through our ever-reliable SA postal service but rather a quicker (delivery within five days) courier service.

So why buy here instead of through a brand’s usual stockists and retailers? Every purchase gets you rubypoints, which you can then use to put towards your next box. There are loads of extra benefits on the company’s website (http://www.rubybox.co.za) so I suggest you take a look around. There is also an online magazine filled with beauty tips, tricks, news and the latest product reviews. The whole thing is run by girls who love beauty so if you’re like me and have a slight beauty obsession, bookmark the page.

Last month, I tried out the June [rubybox]. I got to try out Aussie 3 Minute Miracle Frizz Remedy Deep Treatment, Calvin Klein Euphoria, Lee Stafford Dry Shampoo, Maybelline Master Drama-Crayon Khol and Piz Buin in Sun Sun Lipstick SPF 20.

I love the Aussie hair products and all the beauty eds have been raving about the 3 Minute Miracle so I actually jumped up and down in excitement when I saw this product. It was only a sachet size but since you only need a blob at a time, it lasted me well through a couple of weeks. I really enjoyed the CK fragrance and have already put it on my birthday list (friends, hint hint!). The Lee Stafford Dry Shampoo has been getting rave reviews all over the world and isn’t actually a sample size as such, but rather a smaller travel version. I really liked that it was small enough to pop into my handbag and is perfect for a quick refresher during the day. You know, those days where you have a million meetings, then a quick run on the treadmill before meeting the girls for drinks still looking like you just stepped off a fashion page. The Maybelline eyeliner is actually full size (yay!) and is my new favourite for a night-time look. It goes on easily and leaves a gorgeous thick, dark line so I’ve been using it on my inside lower lid and finishing off the look with liquid liner on the top.

All in all, as much as I love the beauty box concept, the best thing about [rubybox] is all the additional little extras you get on the site. And because it’s run by someone who knows a thing or two about beauty, it’s a product I trust and will happily recommend to everyone!

Social media savvies can also check out [rubybox] on both Facebook and Twitter (@rubybox_beauty).

2 thoughts on “Rubybox

Leave a Reply

