Nivea Powerfruit Shower Gels

I love pretty things. Products that fit in with my colour scheme or that look good when placed on the bath are likely to be purchased over and over again. Especially if they’re also a bargain! Nivea has brought out two new shower gels: NIVEA Powerfruit Refresh and NIVEA Powerfruit Relax. Each of the shower gels contains extracts from what are commonly known as ‘superfruits’. It’s a bit of a buzz word at the moment so I was concerned the products would be rather gimmicky when I first saw them but after using them for a few weeks, I’m quite pleased with them.

Because of my love affair with purple, I obviously used the Relax variant first. According to the labelling, it contains acai berry fragrance combined with antioxidants and blueberries. Now, I have no idea what an acai berry actually smells like so I can’t vouch for that but whatever the fragrance is, it has a very fresh, fruity smell that kind of makes me hungry. Not the most relaxing fragrance, mind you, but definitely something I’d enjoy using.

Whenever a product claims to contain plant extracts, I immediately flip it over and check the ingredients listing. Blueberries are definitely used in the product (although it’s actually a specific variant of the blueberry called the bilberry) and there is quite a bit of research available on the interwebs regarding the antioxidising properties of this ingredient. The rest of the formulation is pretty standard but the thing that really makes this product stand out is the packaging. It looks good, is easy to use and is so typical of Nivea that you immediately know it belongs to the Nivea family.

The other shower gel in this range contains cranberries and vitamin C, and apparently smells like goji berries. Again, I can’t claim that this really does smell like goji berries but I do really enjoy the fragrance. In fact, it’s quite difficult to favour either of them because they both smell so good. The formulation for this one is very similar to the Relax version – just swap the blueberries for cranberries – and without benzoic acid, which I’m guessing is used in the former for its antioxidising properties. There really isn’t a whole lot to say about the products from a formulatory point of view. They clean and foam, basically doing what you want a shower gel to do. They have fancy fruit extracts and I can definitely feel my skin is smoother and softer after using them, negating the need for a body moisturiser.

But I still think the best bit about these products is the price. At R24.99 for 250ml, these babies are practically a steal and something I’m happy to spend money on, not just for myself, but also a pick-me-up gift for friends. And that should tell you everything you need to know about them. I actually hope Nivea brings out more gels for this superfruits range, giving me a wider selection of yummy-smelling products to choose from.

2 thoughts on “Nivea Powerfruit Shower Gels

Leave a Reply

