Kiehl’s men’s range

Something that has amazed me for a very long time is how short-sighted many men are when it comes to personal care. Every man brushes his teeth every day to combat bad breath, yellow teeth, and cavities (hopefully). Most men shave or trim their facial hair and cut their hair to look presentable (and to hide the fact that we are still cavemen on the inside). And yet, when I ask why they do these but don’t take care of their skin by cleansing and moisturising, I usually get the response “Huh, I never thought of it that way”. Well fear not, fellow men, for I am here to think for you.

Kiehl’s has launched in SA and offers a great range of products that any man will be happy with. For those of you who don’t know, it’s an American cosmetic brand that has been around since 1851 and recently opened its flagship South African store in Sandton City. Kiehl’s has an amazing range of male products, but what makes it truly great in my eyes is the fact that it understands its users and sell male products that are simple, light and, most importantly, effective.

One of my personal favourites is the Facial Fuel collection, which contains everything a man could possibly need, from face wash to lip balm. For the purpose of introducing you all to a quick and easy morning and night routine, I’ll be focusing on three of the Facial Fuel products: the Energizing Face Wash, Energizing Scrub, and Facial Fuel Moisturiser – the perfect entry point into the world of male skin care.

Kiehl’s Facial Fuel Energizing Facial Wash

As I mentioned in my previous post, there are three factors that matter the most to me: simplicity, smell, and feel. Kiehl’s Facial Fuel delivers on all three of these. Obviously there are few things as simple as a face wash and moisturising routine, so this is not really a consideration (I’m sure many of you more experienced readers are going to shout about the importance of toner, but we are taking baby steps for the newbies here). Smell and feel, however, are areas in which this collection truly excels.

The Facial Wash (R229 for 250ml) is light and fresh, but leaves your face feeling clean – there is no residual oil or grease which I find unbearable. It smells slightly of eucalyptus, which in my opinion enhances that feeling of cleanliness, but the major benefit for me is that my face feels like it can breath after washing, and that is something most men will appreciate. Occasionally I find that my skin feels slightly dry after using the Facial Wash, but this is probably a result of my skin type and is easily remedied by using the signature product of the collection, the Facial Fuel moisturiser which I will talk about later.

Kiehl’s Facial Fuel Energizing Scrub

I would also suggest supplementing it with the Energizing Scrub (R195 for 100ml), which is the exfoliator of the collection, (Note to manufacturers: don’t use such big words when selling a product like this to a man – it is likely to frighten them off. Call it a scrub). The great thing about this scrub is the size and sheer quantity of the granules – they are plentiful, but aren’t so big that you feel like you are ploughing your skin. For most active men living in a city, the amount of sweat and pollution accumulated from driving around is scary, and I have found that a scrub is the best way to keep skin looking healthy and clean – but only when used in moderation. This is an important lesson for men to learn, as using a scrub on top of shaving every day does more damage than good and leaves the face looking weathered and thin – one Marlboro Man was more than enough, thank you. I use the scrub two to three times a week, and only at night, but if this is too complicated or too much effort then stick to using the Face Wash twice a day.

Finally we have the Facial Fuel Age Combat moisturiser (R365 for 75ml), which is without a doubt one of my favourite moisturisers to use, simply because of the amazing feeling it leaves you with. It is light, refreshing, leaves barely any scent, and your skin feels amazingly energised afterwards. I have a major problem with any moisturiser that leaves my skin feeling oily or clogged, and I usually end up rewashing my face to get rid of it. Kiehl’s does not have this effect at all, but rather leaves you feeling clean, and has the added bonus of the cooling effect of eucalyptus (think of that cooling sensation you get when using Deep Heat, but without the burn).

Kiehl’s Facial Fuel Age Combat

Be careful not to use too much of the moisturiser, though, because if it isn’t all absorbed then you will notice it on the skin, but you quickly learn how much you need the more you use it. This is a great moisturiser that works well for any skin type, and is not overpriced like so many other men’s products, and even though I have only focused on three products, the entire Kiehl’s range is well worth checking out. What makes it even better is that they provide samples for almost all of their products, so you can try them before buying to see if they work for you. Two extra minutes each morning, guys, and I guarantee you will notice a difference after a few months.

Leave a Reply

