Moor Skin & Body Competition

At this year’s Professional Beauty show at Gallagher Estate in Joburg, I had the pleasure of coming across a brand I’ve been hearing on the beauty circuit for a while now. It’s called Moor Skin & Body Care. I know most of the local beauty girls have been chatting about the brand over the past few months (and I’m constantly getting the Twitter updates of the CT girls’ fabulous experiences at the Moor Skin & Body Care spa) but this was the first time I had come across the brand. So when the woman behind the brand in SA, Gillian Bauermeister, got in touch and asked to meet, I was extremely excited.

I love new brands and I love meeting people who are passionate about their brands and after meeting Gillian, I don’t think I have ever met someone quite as excited about their products. I think one of the reasons for the excitement is that there is just so much history and knowledge behind Moor that it’s almost impossible to get everything I want to say across in one post. First thing I feel I should do is tell you a bit more about Moor (heehee, I punned).

The History

The Neydharting Moor is an area in Austria that for hundreds of years has been rumoured to have miraculous healing properties. If you know me at all, you’ll know the minute I hear claims like this I get skeptical. So over the past few weeks I’ve been pouring over as much info on the moor as I can get my grubby little paws on. What I found was not just a brand with a story, but one that has been so well-researched and documented that I think I may be nearing the same levels of excitement as Gillian.

Basically what has happened in the area is that over hundreds of years, water has flowed through the area surrounding Neydharting, picking up debris from the natural flora of the area, and collected in the lake around which the area is built. Over time, people in the area discovered that when they used the water from the lake, or soaked in the mud, it would have a profound effect on any illness or wounds they were suffering from. The rumours got out and throughout history the area has been known as a kind of ancient natural spa. European nobility would travel to the area to take advantage of the moor’s healing properties and in the 18th century, a number of spas or “curing houses” were built.

The area is now owned by the family of the man who initially started the research into the moor’s properties, Professor Stober. His research was ongoing from 1942 until his death in 1990 and to this day his family ensures that the moor is kept in a sustainable manner so that the ingredients around which the products are formulated are kept safe.

The key ingredient in Moor Skin & Body Care products is the peat water (peat is the term used for a bunch of decomposed plant material). There are literally reams of information available on the benefits of peat water and list of plant extracts found in the peat water include everything from arnica to valerian to basil to fenugreek to a whole host of plants I’ve never even heard of before. And I’m a bit of a gardening junkie. The list spans pages and I’m far too lazy to count them for you.

So why not try it out for yourself? The fabulous Gillian has very kindly donated an extra product, the Intense Body Cream, to me to give away to one lucky reader. I’ve been trying it out for the past few weeks (read my review HERE) and absolutely love it, and I’m sure you will to.

How do you enter? There are a number of ways: either comment on this or the review page, Like the blog’s facebook page or tweet me, @BeautyBloggess, using the hashtag #BBmoorcompetitionSA. Each act gets you an entry so obviously the more you do, the more entries you get. I’ll be running this competition for two weeks: entries close midnight Friday 16 November and I’ll announce the winner on Monday 19 November. So what are you waiting for? Get moving!

Terms & Conditions

The competition is only open to South African residents. The prize is a 200g tube of Moor Skin & Body Care Intense Body Cream. The prize will be couriered to the winner within two weeks of being announced. Entries close midnight Friday 16 November and the winner will be announced Monday 19 November.

11 thoughts on “Moor Skin & Body Competition

  1. Rehana Seedat says:

    Absolutely love Moor Skin products. Have tweeted as well and shared the competition post to faceboook. Keeping fingers and toes crossed. Twittername: online61524

Leave a Reply

