Balm Balm Face Balm Rose Geranium

Balm Balm Face Balm Rose Geranium

Balm Balm Face Balm Rose Geranium

First I think I need to clarify: I am not a “greenie”. Although I care about the environment and truly believe that if we don’t take care of the earth, we will regret it, I don’t buy into the natural movement as a whole. I like science. I like scientific advancements. And I’m very much into research and development. So when I hear about a brand that positions itself as “natural”, I immediately hear warning bells.

Interestingly, I had heard of Balm Balm way before I got to try the products out for myself. Balm Balm is a UK brand and one of the few companies that I believe actually has the right to call itself “organic”. With so many “organically-inspired” brands, it’s refreshing to find a company that has the necessary accreditation to make “natural”, “organic” and “green” claims.

The first thing you should know is that it is certified organic by the Soil Association. The Soil Association has some of the strictest criteria around when it comes to certifying ingredients, let alone a finished product. You can read more up about their accreditation process on the website.

Last year, I attended one of the tea parties hosted by local distributor, Susan Rowan. Sue is extremely passionate about the brand and it’s hard not to get caught up in her excitement. If you do get a chance to attend one of these little “get-togethers”, it’s definitely worth it as she goes through the entire range, explains each product and lets you sample them. Drop her a mail (susan@balmbalm.co.za) to find out when the next one is.

The product I got to take home and try out was the Rose Geranium Face Balm. Made from shea butter, sunflower, beeswax, jojoba, calendula rose geranium essential oil, it really is about as gentle on the skin as you can get and continues to be one of the brands’ best-sellers. I’m pretty sure the fragrance won’t suit every one (I know loads of people who really don’t like rose or geranium), there are always the Fragrance Free and Tea Tree versions to try out.

Personally, I love it. Not only to moisturise my face but I also use it on everything from elbows to hands to lips, especially with the cold, dry winter Joburg months coming up. This product is currently on my bedside table and I doubt very much it’s going to move from there until winter has passed.

Heads up, this is a balm so it does have a very rich and somewhat sticky texture. I wouldn’t use it on my face during the day but when I use it the night before, I don’t need to apply any moisturiser the next morning – it leaves my skin feeling super soft and smooth. It also has a balancing effect on my skin and cleared up a minor breakout I was suffering from.

The Face Balm is priced at R140 and a full list of stockists (including online retailers) is available on the website.
One thought on “Balm Balm Face Balm Rose Geranium

  1. Mother City Mom says:

    I have used it during the day under my makeup and it gives your skin a fresh dewy look. Wouldn’t be great if you have oily skin, but for normal or dry it makes your foundation look “glowy”. I also use the tea tree face balm and it clears up problem skin within a day or two. Amazing stuff.

Leave a Reply

