Filorga Pigment-Perfect

PIGMENT-PERFECT-blanc jpgHaving a cosmetic chemist for a father meant that I’ve been aware of the damage the sun can do from a very early age. Growing up, our house was filled with sunscreens and with my fair skin, my parents did their best to make sure I ended up covered from head to toe as often as possible. My teen years were another story. Fulfilling the cliche of rebellious teenager meant that I would spend hours in the sun trying desperately to turn my pale skin to an even olive tone and, more often than not, would result in a lobster pink sunburn. It got to a point where my dad would threaten to ground me if I got one more sunburn.

It’s only recently that I’m starting to appreciate his overly-protective sun care regimen. As I edge closer and closer to 30, my skin tone is starting to show the signs of sun damage I’m sure were caused by me not listening to my father and probably a turn or two on a sunbed. Although I never venture out without sunscreen (and echo my father when it comes to lecturing friends on proper sunscreen use), there are still a few dark spots and pigmentation marks I’ve noticed popping up on my body.

Luckily, I’m not alone in this. There’s a rather big trend in cosmetic manufacturing to create products that specifically target pigmentation. It’s a huge concern for most women and apparently, according to some marketing material I received from Filorgia, 30% of women between the ages of 30-39 will have some form of pigmentation, while 60% of women at age 60 will have pigmentation.

The info from Filorgia accompanied its latest pigmentation product, Pigment Perfect. A dark spot corrector serum, it contains hop extract to regulate pigmentation by reducing melanin production as well as reducing the number of active melanocytes to visibly decrease the size and intensity of spots. It also has what it calls a “new-generation vitamin C offered in a more soluble and stable form” to help to reduce melanin synthesis and evens out the complexion. Lastly, Lanacrys 2B, a plant extract that contains anti-oxidising and anti-inflammatory properties fights against the free radicals responsible for dark spots generated by oxidative stress.

I’ve spent the past couple of weeks trying this product out and although it hasn’t managed to tackle the worst of my pigmentation marks, it has certainly had an effect some of the lighter spots on my skin. I’ve noticed a definite improvement in my overall skin tone and for a serum, it’s quite pleasant to use. A little goes a long way here, which at R685 for a 30ml tube, is quite something. It’s also easily absorbed and non-greasy so you can use it twice a day (morning and night) as recommended. Oh, and not only does it target pigmentation that’s already there, it also helps prevent future pigmentation marks.

This is my first experience with France-based Filorga products and I’m quite keen to try out the rest of the products in the range. It’s available at selected Edgars and Red Square or for more information or stockists call 012 567 1059 or visit www.filorgasouthafrica.co.za. You can also follow them on Twitter: @FilorgaSA

3 thoughts on “Filorga Pigment-Perfect

  1. suaaddartistry says:

    Filorga products are pretty darn awesome. I’ve reviewed 2 products of theirs and both reviews were positive. These guys know what they’re doing when it comes to r&d of top notch products.

  2. google.com says:

    Its such as you learn my thoughts! You appear to understand a lot approximately this, such as you wrote the e book in it
    or something. I believe that you could do with a few p.
    c. to drive the message home a little bit, but instead of that,
    that is magnificent blog. A great read. I’ll certainly be back.

Leave a Reply

