Touche turns 21

l4173600 touche eclat 02 collector 13 2Great news for anyone who loves beautifully packaged make-up. To celebrate the 21st birthday of Yves Saint Laurent’s Touche Éclat, YSL is launching a Collector’s Edition that, in my opinion, has the most gorgeous packaging I’ve ever seen on a concealer.

According to market research group NPD, a Touche Éclat is sold every 10 seconds (August 2011 data). The product has, over its 21 years, gained and retained iconic status among make-up artists and celebrities. I was introduced to Touche last year and can honestly say I’ve never looked back. From concealing to highlighting and even aiding in my disastrous attempts to contour, Touche Éclat is one of those products you want with you when stranded on an island.

The normal collection of Touche Éclat has six shades to suit a majority of skin types, although some women find they can use two shades or a combination to achieve different effects. The 2013 Collected Edition Touche Éclat (R475) only comes in one shade (No2), which is perfect for me since I find that No1 and No2 work well for me. It’s available from 1 July.

The 2013 Collected Edition Touche Éclat was inspired by the couture dress Edition Soir with its delicate “sparkle of light”. The product, like the dress, is embellished with rain strass (a term not in any of the dictionaries I own but Google seems to think is jeweller’s jargon meaning embellishments of some sort). The embellishment gives the product an even more high-end feel (which isn’t easy for a product already presented in gold tubing – how much more high-end could you get?). I can’t wait to get my hands on this latest addition to the Touche family.

2 thoughts on “Touche turns 21

Leave a Reply

