Viktor & Rolf Spicebomb

VIKTORROLF_SPICEBOMB_50ML_WHITEColognes are a dime a dozen these days and with such a diverse selection to choose from, men have no excuse whatsoever for not going out and finding one that suits them, or better yet, one that they like. But every once in a while a new fragrance is released that is so distinct and unique that it stands in a league of its own – and right now, that is Viktor & Rolf’s Spicebomb.

First off, let me say that reviewing a fragrance is tricky at the best of times, due to the fact that smell is exceptionally subjective, with no logical rationality behind it, as well as the fact that fragrances react differently when applied to different skin types. So, I will be basing my assessment of Spicebomb not only on what I think of it, but also on how other people have reacted to it.

Spicebomb is one of those scents that is noticeable from the moment you apply it – and people are either going to love it or hate it. As the name suggests, it is all about the spices, but it is one of those spice combinations that just works so well. I find that the cologne is a bit too sweet when I first apply it, and this put me off in the beginning. However, after wearing it for fifteen minutes or so, the scent mellows down in this beautiful aroma that smells both masculine and fresh (a difficult combination because most of the natural smells we men create are not fresh in any way). Spicebomb also stayed on my skin a very long time, and seven hours after application I could still smell it (weakened, of course, but most fragrances fade after four hours on my skin).

The fragrance opens with top notes of bergamot, grapefruit, cinnamon and pink pepper. The heart (or middle notes) are lavender, lemony and peppery elemi, and pimento berries. It dries down to notes of vetiver and tobacco leaf.

From other people’s perspectives, Spicebomb was a great success as well. Because it is still new and people aren’t familiar with it, many of my friends and colleagues made a point of asking what I was wearing – one even decided to rub her hands across my chest so that she could “take the smell with her”. I’m not saying that Spicebomb has the effect Axe claims to have – this girl is just slightly unhinged. The point is that Spicebomb was a hit with other people, and I received only positive feedback when I asked what people thought of it.

All in all, Spicebomb is a great cologne and is well worth going out to sample on yourself. I own 23 different fragrances, only two of which I have bought for myself, but I have every intention of going out and buying my own bottle of Spicebomb – and I suggest you do the same.

Spicebomb is available in Edgars, Red Square and Stuttafords and costs R749 for 50ml, R849 for 90ml.

Leave a Reply

