Cold of death

It’s been a quiet week on the blog for me – apologies about that. But I got hit by the dreaded flu bus (fine, I’ll admit it, it was a cold) last week and was woman down for most of the week. I don’t do sick very well. Unfortunately, I have the world’s worst immune system so while my champion S.O. had a mild case of the sniffles for a few days, I ended up with one of the worst colds I’ve ever had (I’m five days in now and still feel like crawling back into bed) along with an ear infection. Luckily, I have the world’s best S.O. who takes my moans and aches and pains and more moans in his stride. So in preparation for flu season, here are a few tips for surviving bed rest.

1. Tea. When the doctor prescribed bed rest and warm fluids, I did a happy little internal dance. I love tea. I love coffee, but I LOVE tea. And if the doctor is prescribing it, it basically means the doctor has ordered tea-on-demand for me. Happiness. In fact, I love my tea so much, I even Instagrammed it (totes a verb now).

wpid-img_20140404_144401.jpg

2. Meds. The “right” ones. In my family, we tend to self medicate. So when I’m hit by a cold, I go straight for painkillers and antihistamines. It’s a guaranteed formula. Others may disagree and try recommend all sorts of nonsense. When I dragged myself round to the doctor, he sent me home with a prescription: of painkillers and antihistamines. In my family, we know our meds.

3. Books and bed rest. Day 1 was spent on the couch with a blanket (and tea) marathoning Pretty Little Liars. After a few hours of this, I was even more exhausted than when I woke up. My doctor is of the stern “do what I tell you or don’t moan to me when you aren’t better next week” type so when he looked over his glasses to tell me “bed rest means bed, not the lounge”, I took it to heart. Lots of sleep and a few good books kept me from climbing the walls after a few hours. I managed to get through my next Terry Pratchett (The Light Fantastic) and Divergent by Veronica Roth.

wpid-img_20140403_170519.jpg

4. Supportive and understanding boyfriend. He doesn’t “get” sick. Honestly, he hasn’t been to the doctor in years and can’t quite comprehend why my bedside table was suddenly covered in medicines, tissues, books and cups of tea. Just because he doesn’t understand it, doesn’t mean he’s not super sympathetic and ready to take on anything I need. From back rubs to cooking supper, turns out that having someone there for you when you’re not feeling your best is a god send.

5. Kitty snuggles. My little noonoo loved having me home for a few days and spent most of the time sharing in my misery. In fact, I’m pretty sure I heard her coughing in unison with me at some point. Although that may have been the meds. Or too much tea.

wpid-img_20140403_222805.jpg

 

 

Leave a Reply

