Hair envy

There are a couple of hair products and styling tools I’m super excited about at the moment, so thought I’d do a quick round up. Let me know if you’ve tried any of them and what you thought.

1. ghd IV styler in Pastel Lavender

I adore ghd. It’s my most used beauty item and well worth the cost. I had my first one for eight years after spending two months working my ass off at a bar in London to be able to afford it. Luckily, my mom spoilt me with a new one for my birthday last year. Although I currently have the Limited Edition Purple Peacock, which I absolutely love (it’s purple, after all), that doesn’t mean I can’t covet another purple one. This one is on sale at the moment for R1 499 at www.everythinghair.co.za

2. Tangle Teezer Limited Edition Sugared Almonds in Sweet Lilac

Yes, I know. You’re noticing a colour trend here. I can’t help what I love. I’ve heard such amazing things about a Tangle Teezer and can’t wait to get one for myself. Although they look a little strange, rumour has it that it’s the only hair brush you’ll ever need. Available from end of July 2014 at R230 from www.everythinghair.co.za and selected salons.

3. Invisibobble

Look at it! No, really. Just look at it. How random is that? I haven’t tried them, but I’ve heard they are amazing – keep your hair tied back without the damage caused by normal hair bands and it doesn’t leave you with that tell-tale “hair kink” if you want to let your hair down later. I’m currently growing my hair and it’s driving me insane at the moment. I have hair bands falling out of pockets yet somehow I can never find one when I need it. Something tells me this is a little more difficult to lose. R80 for a pack of 3 on www.everything hair.co.za

Invisibobble1

 

 

4. Kerastase Elixir Ultime for Fine and Sensitised Hair

Ok, you can’t judge me on this one. I know the bottle is purple, but it’s not my fault that the packaging for fine hair happens to be my favourite! I tried a sample of this once and was completely blown away. A small amount makes your hair feel silky soft and it doesn’t leave you looking, or feeling, oily. Kerastase has been hitting it out of the ballpark with its styling ranges at the moment, but this is still a favourite of mine. R470 for 125ml on www.everythinghair.co.za

kerastase_elixir_ultime_coloured_hair_purple

5. Moroccanoil Light Oil Treatment

When it comes to hair oils, nothing beats Mococcanoil. Although the original works just as well, I find that the Light Oil Treatment works better for my fine-but-fabulous hair. It’s a little pricey at R450 for 100ml (www.everythinghair.co.za), but this is one time where a little really does go a long, long way.

moroccanoil-treatment-light-100ml-2

6. Kerastase Styling Powder Bluff

I’m having a serious problem getting hold of my favourite dry shampoo at the moment. As a brunette, we’re a lot more limited than our blonder counterparts who don’t end up with the “granny look” from the white powdery residue a lot of dry shampoos use. Trying to track down a bottle specifically for brunettes is like looking for a needle in a haystack at the moment. Although it’s touted as a styling product, the Powder Bluff can be used as a dry shampoo and, because it’s transparent, it doesn’t leave you with white residue. I’m quite keen to get my hands on this and try it out – hopefully it’s easier to track down! R320 for 200ml on www.everythinghair.co.za

Kerastate powder bluff

Leave a Reply

