My first microZone

I know I’ve been super quiet lately and if you’re following me on social media, you’ll know why (hint: busy worker bees struggle to find time to blog). An if you’re not following me, why not? 🙂

Luckily, I have a barrage of posts coming up so get ready! And for the first one, we’ve got a review AND a super exciting competition! Read on for more:

Last week I had the pleasure of experiencing my very first microZone facial. It’s a mini targeted facial offered by my favourite skin care brand Dermalogica. I was hosted by the lovely ladies at Meridian Spa in Bryanston and was so swept away by the service and passion that I’ve already booked to take my mom through for a spa day at the end of the month. Yup, the spa is that good!

wpid-20140729_160552.jpg

Upon arrival at the spa, I was greeted with a warm towel and a shot of wheatgrass juice. Apparently the key to making sure it’s not as yucky as it looks is to add a smidgen of apple juice. Thanks for the tip, ladies! Meridian is in Bryanston right near Epsom Downs so it’s pretty much smack bang between work and home for me – super convenient for all the future treatments I can see myself “popping in” for. They offer all the normal treatments (manis, pedis, facials, massages, waxing etc) but with a big focus on staying abreast of the latest in skin care technology. There’s a fancy schmancy facial they’re launching soon with a super-technical machine that I don’t quite understand how it works just yet so keep your eyes open for my post on that once I get my head around it! But onto the facial I did actually experience…

wpid-20140729_155601.jpg

Dermalogica’s microZone facial is a 20-minute treatment so it’s perfect for a lunchtime treat or in between your regular facial regime. It’s also a fantastic way to get introduced to the brand, or even facials in general if you’ve (shock! horror!) never had the pleasure of experiencing one. My therapist, Sheilah, started with a quick consult discussing my concerns and doing an analysis of my face. I’m a bit paranoid when it comes to my skin so my concerns included everything I could think of: dehydration, ageing, pigmentation, congestion etc. What I didn’t put down was something Sheilah picked up herself and pointed out to me – my enlarged pores under my eyes. With so many other concerns, it’s not something I ever thought really could be treated, but I’ve noticed over the past 3 months that these do become blocked quite frequently. I just had no idea what to do about it.

So Sheilah put together a customised facial using Dermalogica’s products. When it comes to facials, I HATE lying there wondering what the therapist is putting on my face and why so I asked if she wouldn’t mind running me through the products as she worked, explaining what they are, how they work and why she was applying them. Usually skin therapists tell me one or two things about the products and then carry on with their job, but Sheilah went above and beyond. One of the things that impressed me the most was how at ease she was with the products and how knowledgable she was about them. She happily rattled off the ingredients by rote and explained what each one did. I came away knowing more about how my skin works and what products are better suited for me than from most launches and presentations I’ve been to.

wpid-20140729_160450.jpg

The best bit was that it really felt like I had been lying on the bed for an hour. I was completely relaxed and my skin was glowing. I feel a little awkward leaving somewhere after a facial with my hair all messy and face as red as a lobster. Because it’s a quick treatment, one of the products Sheilah used was Dermalogica’s UltraCalming mist which really brought down any redness. In the week following the treatment, my skin flared up a bit and I experienced a bit of a breakout, but that was to be expected. Since then, my skin has cleared up and is now better than I’ve had it in months. It’s smooth and supple and all the dehydration issues I’ve been experiencing are gone. For a 20-minute treatment, this is more than worth the price! The microZone treatment is available for R380.

There are also a fantastic August specials on at the moment to help celebrate Women’s Month. You can get any of the following three treatments for R780:

  • Manicure
  • Pedicure
  • Indian head massage
  • Back, neck and shoulders massage
  • Skin treatment
Spa owner Samantha and the lovely manager Yolandi

Spa owner Samantha and the lovely manager Yolandi

But now it’s time for the best part – the competition details! I had such a lovely time at the spa and I really think it’s something my readers will enjoy as well! So we have two lovely prizes from the ladies at Meridian. The first is for Joburg based readers only. It’s a half-day spa package valued at R1 430 which includes:

  • Welcome drink and warm aroma infused towel upon arrival
  • Signature Dew Drop Ritual (it’s something Meridian have created on their own for their special guests – trust me, you’ll love it!)
  • Full body aromatherapy massage
  • Relaxation lounge/organic coffee, tea/rusks
  • Hand or foot ritual (excludes paint)
  • Indian head massage
  • Refreshments and Amarula choccies upon departure

Doesn’t that sound fab?! If you want to win, just like my Facebook page as well as Meridian Spa’s Facebook page and post a comment below on what your favourite spa treatment is. Entries close Friday 22 August so be sure to get your entry in before then! And don’t forget to specify that you’re #Jozibased.

If you’re not a local Joburger, fear not! Your prize could be a Dermalogica Body Therapy Favorites Kit. The kit is valued at R550 and includes: a travel size Dermalogica Conditioning Body Wash, Body Hydrating Cream & Stress Relieve Treatment. I’ve actually got one of these babies at home and have been generous enough to share with my loved one. To enter this competition, follow me on Twitter and Meridian Spa and comment below on what your favourite spa treatment is. Entries close on Friday 22 August. For this one, please specify if you’re not from Joburg.

Ok, so to summerise:

Facebook competition

Prize: Half day spa package at Meridian

Enter: Like both Facebook pages and comment below on your favourite spa treatment. Specify #Jozibased.

Twitter competition:

Prize: Dermalogica Body Therapy Favourites Kit

Enter: Like both Twitter pages and comment below on your favourite spa treatment. Specify #SAbased.

 

Terms & Conditions

Entries close at midnight on Friday 22 August. Winners will be drawn and announced on Monday 25 August. First prize winner will be contacted and put in touch with Meridian to book the package directly with them. Package must be redeemed within 6 months of the day the winner is announced. Second prize winner will be contacted for a delivery address – the package will be couriered directly to you. The judge’s decision is final and no correspondence will be entered into. Entries must be completed in full for the winner to claim the prize. 

 

Meridian Spa

Address: 50 Queens Road, Bryanston, 2191

Telephone no: 011 463 1801

Website: www.meridianspa.co.za

Email: yolandi@meridianspa.co.za

Facebook, Twitter, Instagram

17 thoughts on “My first microZone

  1. Kathy Smit says:

    Always up for a full body massage! And seeing as I will be back in Jozi in Feb (just in time to beat the 6 month booking deadline!) I’m going for it! #jozibased

  2. Elaine Wang says:

    Nothing like a good hot stone massage, followed by a Dermalogica deep cleansing facial for a busy #jozibased #SAbased girl. Oh, and a Dermalogica Body Therapy Kit FTW!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

